SwapSpace – Cross-Chain Crypto Swaps

Atomic Wallet review: what it costs and what remains unresolved

Atomic is a non-custodial wallet available as a desktop app, mobile app, and browser extension, founded by Konstantin Gladych, a former co-founder and CEO of Changelly. There is no charge to install it or to hold assets in it; the wallet earns from its in-wallet swaps and from a card purchase markup of 5%.

As stated on the website, Atomic covers more than 1,000 coins and tokens, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron and Monero natively. Its independent security audit, from Least Authority in 2022, listed outstanding vulnerabilities that Atomic has not published a fix for or explanation of. Separately, Elliptic's tracking of the 2023 incident put user losses at more than $100 million across over 5,000 wallets, with no public explanation from Atomic of the root cause. Anyone evaluating Atomic today should weigh both points before funding the wallet.

One thing to settle before anything else: Atomic's swap, fiat purchase, staking, and trading features are not run by Atomic itself. To exchange BTC to USDT, for example, Atomic uses the services of third-party providers — ChangeNOW for swaps, for example — under those providers' own terms. 

What we tested, and what we did not

We installed the application, created a wallet, ran a swap through the built-in exchange, and restored the wallet on a clean device. We also read Atomic's current Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, and the 2022 Least Authority audit report.

We did not verify Atomic's source code, because Atomic does not publish one — there is no public repository to review. We also did not independently confirm the scale of the 2023 security incident beyond Elliptic's published tracking, and we did not test staking or the Web3 browser extension. Everything below about those areas comes from Atomic's own published pages rather than from our own use, and is labeled as such.

Atomic Wallet at a glance

Custody

Non-custodial. Keys and the 12-word recovery phrase are generated and stored locally on the user's device, encrypted. Atomic states it cannot access wallets or credentials.

Recovery

12-word seed phrase, compatible with other wallets

Native accounts

1,000+ coins and tokens, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron and Monero

Platforms

Desktop, iOS, Android, Web3 browser extension

Account required

No. Basic wallet functions do not require registration, a name or an email address, and Atomic states its core functions can be used without KYC.

Source code

Not published. Atomic maintains no public repository, so the code cannot be independently reviewed.

Latest audit

Least Authority, 2022. The report lists outstanding vulnerabilities, including in Atomic's use of cryptography and its implementation of Electron, that have not been publicly resolved since.

Documented incident

2023: Elliptic's tracking reports losses of more than $100 million across over 5,000 wallets. Atomic has not published an explanation of the cause.

Swap execution

Handled by third-party providers, including ChangeNOW and GMGN.AI; not run by Atomic directly

Exchange fees

Not disclosed by Atomic; built into the spread shown at the time of the swap

Card purchase fee

5% markup, $10 minimum, on purchases handled by third-party providers

Staking

Available; execution handled by third-party providers rather than Atomic directly

Subscription

None


Note on company figures: Atomic's About page lists 1,000+ supported assets, 5M+ downloads, a 4.6+ rating, 13 own nodes, 18 staking assets, 300,000+ AWC holders and 50+ employees. These are Atomic's own published figures rather than independently verified statistics. Atomic's current homepage separately states it is "trusted by 15,000,000 users worldwide," a figure that is not reconciled with the 5M+ downloads shown on the About page.

What's changed following the 29.07.2026 update 

Atomic's most recent published release is version 2.104.5. Atomic's release notes for this version state:

New features

  • App performance has been improved
  • Balance updates load faster
  • Assets on the main screen are sorted more clearly
  • Trade perpetuals on Gold, Oil and the S&P 500 is faster and more reliable, per Atomic

Bug fixes

  • DOT swaps run more smoothly
  • Sending BSV, STX and FIL has been improved
  • Transaction history now displays for SOL and for USDC on Tron
  • Price charts have been updated for USDC.e on Optimism, Arbitrum and Polygon

Setting up Atomic Wallet

Installation runs in the desktop or mobile app and takes a few minutes. The one step that cannot be redone later is the recovery phrase backup, so read that step before starting.

Tested on version 2.104.5 on August 7, 2026

Step 1. Download and install

Download from atomicwallet.io or the relevant app store. 

Step 2. Create a new wallet or import one

Choose to create a new wallet, or import an existing one using a recovery phrase. Importing does not change the wallet's contents — addresses and balances stay as they are, because they live on their respective blockchains rather than inside the app.

Step 3. Set a password

The password unlocks Atomic on this device. Atomic states it does not store passwords or private keys on its servers, so it cannot reset a forgotten password or recover a wallet without the recovery phrase.

Screenshot: Setting a password on Atomic Wallet

Step 4. Back up the recovery phrase

Atomic generates a 12-word recovery phrase. Atomic's Terms recommend writing it down and storing it offline in two separate locations.  

Step 5. Start using the wallet

Immediately after setup the wallet shows a dashboard with supported assets.

Screenshot: Atomic Wallet Following Setup

Receiving and sending

The Receive screen shows which network is preselected, a QR code, and the address. 

Atomic Wallet Receive Screen

Atomic's Terms state that the applicable blockchain is the authoritative record of a transaction, that Atomic does not guarantee delivery or confirmation, and that Atomic disclaims responsibility for losses caused by incorrectly configured network fees — whether set too high or too low.  

The Send screen does not show whether the network fee is broken out or whether there is a warning against sending to the wrong network.

Atomic Wallet Send Screen

How to swap in Atomic Wallet

Atomic's built-in swap is not run by Atomic. Its Terms of Service name ChangeNOW as the provider for the built-in swap feature and GMGN.AI as the provider for certain Solana meme-token swaps, with Atomic itself acting as the interface rather than the counterparty. The steps below describe how to exchange pairs

Step 1. Open Swap

Select Swap from the dashboard.

Step 2. Choose the asset you are selling and the asset you are buying

The list is filtered to held balances, tokens are searched from a drop-down list. The network fees are shown in advance. 

Step 3. Enter the amount

The app shows the rate after the amount is entered. The network fees are shown in advance. 


Atomic Wallet Swap Screen

Note: The quotes on the screenshot serve an indicative purpose. The actual rate depends on liquidity and market movement at that moment; check the current cost for a specific pair before assuming this figure holds.

Step 4. Review the rate

Atomic does not publish a fixed swap fee. Its Terms state only that applicable fees are shown on the website and in the app; the cost is built into the exchange rate shown at the time of the swap rather than itemized separately.

Step 5. Confirm the swap

Atomic shows a preview of the resulting balance before signing.

How the network fee is calculated

The network fee is paid to the miners who confirm a transaction on its blockchain, not to Atomic. Atomic's own published explanation of how the fee size is set, condensed here:

  • General principle. Fee size tracks how busy the network is. A submitted transaction enters the mempool — the pool of transactions waiting to be confirmed — and miners prioritize whichever transactions offer the highest fee. When many transactions are competing for space, average fees rise; when the network is quieter, they fall. A user in no hurry can wait for lower demand instead of paying more.
  • Staking. Atomic states that staking a coin for the first time creates a dedicated staking address for that coin, still controlled by the user's own keys. Staking is itself a transaction that moves funds to that address, so it carries the same network fee as any other transfer.
  • Bitcoin, Litecoin and DigiByte. For these three, fee size also depends on the number of inputs the transaction uses — the individual pieces that make up a balance and get combined to reach the amount sent, similar to needing more individual bills to make up the same total in cash. More inputs make the transaction heavier and the fee higher, independent of how busy the network is.
  • Ethereum. Atomic states that the amount of ETH sent does not affect the fee. Sending an ERC-20 token costs more than sending ETH itself.

These explanations of fee mechanics describe the network fee only.

Can you buy crypto with a card in Atomic Wallet?

Yes, through a third-party provider rather than Atomic directly. Atomic's Terms state that fiat purchases, like swaps and staking, are executed by third-party providers under their own terms, and that these providers can geo-block particular jurisdictions or decline service to individual users. The provider used for card purchases is Simplex according to the Terms of Service.  

Fees and the amount to receive are shown in advance.

Screenshot: Buying crypto with fiat 

Atomic's published markup on a card purchase is 5%, with a $10 minimum. Whether KYC verification is required depends on the provider handling the purchase rather than on Atomic itself.

Networks and assets

Atomic states it supports more than 1,000 coins and tokens, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron and Monero natively. Atomic publishes no fixed count that stays current for long — the supported list is maintained server-side and can change without an application update — so no specific total is used here. Check the current list in the app.

Beyond the wallet

Atomic's functionality extends past storing and sending:

  • Staking. Available for a number of assets — Atomic's own published figure is 18 — executed through the app rather than Atomic acting as the validator itself.  
  • Cashback. Paid in Atomic's own AWC token rather than in the asset transacted.
  • Portfolio tracking. Balances across supported assets shown in one view.
  • WalletConnect and a Web3 browser extension. Used to connect to external decentralized applications.
  • NFT support. Viewing and management of NFTs alongside other holdings.

Each of these sits outside core custody of assets, in the same way a swap or a card purchase does — Atomic states it runs 13 of its own blockchain nodes, though this figure is self-published rather than independently verified.

Open source and audits

Atomic does not publish its source code. There is no public repository, so the application cannot be independently reviewed the way an open-source or source-available wallet can.

Atomic's most recent independent audit was conducted by Least Authority in 2022. The report listed several outstanding items rather than a clean result:

  • exposure to attacks tied to Atomic's use and implementation of cryptography, which the auditor said could lead to total loss of user funds for affected users;
  • gaps against wallet system design and development standards and best practices;
  • limited project documentation;
  • an implementation of Electron, the framework used to build the desktop app, that the auditor said increased the risk of vulnerabilities and relied on out-of-date dependencies.

Atomic has not published a follow-up report, a fix log, or a public response addressing these findings since 2022.

Security incidents

Date

What happened

Scale

What was affected

Outcome

2023

Elliptic's analysis reported a wave of compromised Atomic wallets; Atomic has not published its own account of the root cause

More than $100 million across over 5,000 wallets tracked by Elliptic; at least ten addresses lost more than $1 million each, at least 164 lost more than $100,000, and the average loss was about $2,800

User wallets and funds

No public explanation of the cause and no reimbursement announcement identified in the materials reviewed


Whether this incident connects to the categories of vulnerability the 2022 Least Authority audit described has not been confirmed publicly by Atomic.

Recovery: does the backup work?

We restored the same 12-word recovery phrase in Atomic Wallet, then separately restored the identical phrase in a second wallet application to check the result independently. As a result, the wallet showed zero balance and a different ETH address. 

The same 12 words were confirmed to match exactly in other wallet applications. The two resulting Ethereum addresses were compared in full, not just by their first and last characters, and are genuinely different rather than a display or copy error:

App

ETH address

Atomic Wallet

0x3425...9433

Second application (correct balance)

0x254c...512d6


Atomic displayed no warning, error, or message indicating that the restored wallet held no assets or that its addresses might differ from those generated by other wallets for the same phrase. The empty wallet was presented as a complete, ordinary result.

The same result reproduced on a second Atomic product: restoring the identical recovery phrase in the Atomic Wallet Chrome extension, version 1.7.5, also showed a $0.00 balance, with the phrase confirmed entered correctly. 

Root cause confirmed. Restoring the same recovery phrase again in a separate, newly created Atomic wallet reproduced matching ETH and BTC addresses, consistent with Atomic's own earlier results across its desktop app and Chrome extension. This points to a derivation-path difference between Atomic and the second application, rather than a passphrase applied on only one side — Atomic consistently derives one set of addresses from this phrase, and the second application consistently derives a different set. Atomic's recovery flow does not disclose which derivation path it uses, does not offer a way to select an alternative path during restore, and gives no indication that a "correctly" restored phrase can still land on a wallet without the expected funds for this reason.

Where the interface confused us

No option to delete a wallet, only to log out. Atomic's interface offers no feature to delete a wallet from within the app. The only available action is logging out, which leaves it unclear whether the wallet's data — keys, recovery-phrase-derived material, or cached balances — is actually removed from the device or simply hidden from view. For a wallet whose core claim rests on private keys never leaving the user's device, not being able to confirm what "log out" actually does to that local data is a meaningful gap.

Support requires an email, with no live chat available. Contacting Atomic's support requires submitting an email rather than starting a live chat. For a user who has just found a wallet showing a $0.00 balance and no clear explanation, an email-only channel means no way to get an immediate response confirming whether the wallet, not the funds, is what's wrong.  

The recovery flow never mentions derivation paths. Restoring a phrase in Atomic and comparing the result against another wallet can produce a different, empty wallet for reasons that trace to which derivation path each app uses — but nothing in Atomic's restore screen names this, offers a way to choose a path, or warns that a "successful" restore with no errors can still land on the wrong addresses if the phrase originated in a wallet using a different one. The phrase itself was never at risk in this case, but nothing in the interface said so.

Matching Atomic Wallet to how you use crypto

If source code review or a recent, resolved audit matters to your decision

Atomic publishes no source code, and its most recent audit, from 2022, lists unresolved findings without a published fix log. Wallets that publish their code and a more recent audit with a documented response give more to verify independently.

If you hold Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron or Monero and want one interface for all five

Atomic supports all five natively, alongside its broader asset list, without requiring a separate wallet for each.

If your priority is a fully self-custodied, no-KYC starting point

Atomic states its core wallet functions — storing, sending and receiving — require no registration and no KYC. KYC requirements apply once a swap, card purchase or staking action reaches its third-party provider.

If this would be your first wallet

The interface still assumes some familiarity with recovery phrases, network fees and third-party swap or purchase providers, since those steps are handled outside Atomic itself.

Alternatives

  • Rabby — for users focused on Ethereum and EVM-compatible chains, with a lower published swap fee (0.25% against Atomic's undisclosed swap markup), a published source license on its extension, and a more recent audit history. Rabby has no native Bitcoin, Solana, Tron or Monero support, which Atomic does have.
  • Trust Wallet — for users who want native support across a large number of chains from one non-custodial wallet, without Atomic's closed codebase. Wallet Core, the cryptographic library Trust Wallet is built on, is available under the Apache 2.0 license, so its key-generation and signing logic can be independently reviewed — but only Wallet Core is open source; the mobile app and the browser extension built on top of it are closed, so the comparison with Atomic's fully closed codebase is partial rather than complete. Its in-wallet swap cost is embedded in the quoted rate rather than shown as a separate fee, similar in structure to how Atomic's exchange rate absorbs its markup rather than itemizing it.
  • Tonkeeper may suit users whose activity is limited to the TON network rather than spread across chains. Tonkeeper does not support Bitcoin, Ethereum, or Solana; it works only on the TON blockchain, a narrower scope than Atomic's multi-chain, 1,000+-asset coverage. Its web client, unlike Atomic's app, is released under the Apache License, Version 2.0. Core wallet use requires no registration, matching Atomic's no-KYC approach for basic functions, and swaps and fiat purchases run through third-party providers in the same structural pattern as Atomic's.

Frequently asked questions

Is Atomic Wallet non-custodial?

Yes. Atomic states that private keys and the recovery phrase are generated and stored locally on the user's device in encrypted form, and that Atomic does not receive this information.

Does Atomic Wallet require KYC?

Not for its core functions — storing, sending and receiving assets. Swaps, card purchases and staking are handled by third-party providers, which may require identity verification depending on the provider and jurisdiction.

Is Atomic Wallet open source?

No. Atomic does not publish a public repository for its application code.

Has Atomic Wallet been hacked?

Elliptic's analysis reported user losses of more than $100 million across over 5,000 wallets in 2023. Atomic has not published its own explanation of the cause. Separately, a 2022 audit by Least Authority listed unresolved cryptography-related vulnerabilities.

What does Atomic Wallet cost?

Installation and holding assets are free. Card purchases carry a 5% markup with a $10 minimum. Swap fees are not published as a fixed rate; they are built into the exchange rate shown at the time of the swap.

Which assets does Atomic Wallet support?

Atomic states support for more than 1,000 coins and tokens, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Tron and Monero natively. The current list is maintained in the app rather than published as a fixed total.

Can I recover my Atomic wallet on a new device?

Atomic's Terms state that recovery is only possible using the 12-word recovery phrase, since Atomic does not store keys, phrases or passwords on its servers. In our test, restoring a valid recovery phrase produced a wallet with a $0.00 balance and addresses that did not match the same phrase restored in a second application, which showed the correct balance. Atomic displayed no warning that this had happened. See the Recovery section above.

Why does my balance show zero after restoring a recovery phrase in Atomic Wallet?

This can happen even with a correctly entered phrase. In our testing, it traced to Atomic deriving different addresses than another wallet from the same phrase — a derivation-path difference rather than an error in the phrase itself, and Atomic's restore screen does not disclose or offer a choice of derivation path. Before assuming funds are lost, try restoring the same phrase in a second, independent wallet application to compare the resulting addresses in full.

Sources

All links checked on August 7, 2026.

_________

Mention of specific third-party software (e.g., Atomic Wallet) does not constitute an endorsement or guarantee of their security by SwapSpace. Users download and use these software/hardware solutions at their own risk. Always conduct your own research (DYOR) and use official sources.

Share:

Related Posts

Curious for more?

Join our newsletter — stay informed, stay empowered.